My Fav Funnies

I was kind of at a loss for what to write about. I had started a bunch of different blogs over the last day and none of them really felt right. So I did what anyone who encounters trouble should really do. I said ‘fuck it’ and decided to watch a movie instead. This brought me to hard decision. What the hell should I watch? Something funny definitely but what? There are too many choices. So I present to you some of my favourite comedies (and therefore some of the funniest movies ever made). They are in no particular order.

Ghostbusters. It has to be said. This is one of the funniest movies ever made. Every single line in this movie is genius. The more deadpan the line the funnier it is. I once spent the entire day with a co-worker doing nothing but quoting lines. That is fun for everyone and never gets old! Fav lines:

Back off. I’m a scientist”

Yes sir, this man has no dick”

Good evening. As a duly designated representative of the City, County, and State of New York, I order you to cease any, and all, supernatural activity and return forthwith to your place of origin, or to the nearest convenient parallel dimension.”

Happy Gilmore. Yeah, I’m a guy…I find old Adam Sandler movies hysterical. This one though…this one is just fucking awesome. The movie is filled with anger, wackiness, and Apollo Creed. What more could you want? What’s that? A Ben Stiller role that fucking kills with his awesome mustache and killer locks? Check it. Fav lines:

You could trouble me for a nice warm glass of shut the hell up. Now, you will go to sleep or I will put you to sleep, read the name tag you’re in my world now Grandma.”

Here comes the putter throw”

I saw two fat naked bikers off 17 in the woods having sex. How am I supposed to CHIP, with that going on, Doug?”

Shaun of the Dead This movie has it all. Zombies, humour, Simon Pegg. If you have not taken the time to watch this movie there might not be any hope for you. basically it’s a bunch of guys trying to get to the pub to wait out the zombie apocalypse. What the fuck more do you need? Fav lines:

Take car. Go to Mum’s. Kill Phil – “Sorry.” – grab Liz, go to the Winchester, have a nice cold pint, and wait for all of this to blow over. How’s that for a slice of fried gold?”

Just look at the face: it’s vacant, with a hint of sadness. Like a drunk who’s lost a bet”

As Mr. Sloan always says, there is no “I” in team, but there is an “I” in pie. And there’s an “I” in meat pie. Anagram of meat is team… I don’t know what he’s talking about.”

A Mighty Wind This movie is hysterical to me for various reasons. It is an improved movie so the dialogue gets downright wacky at times. Added to this is that personally, I used to play the folk music circuit and I know each and every one of these caricatures. It is also awesome to see the guys of Spinal Tap reunited in such a manner. Fav lines:

This is not an occult science. This is not one of those crazy systems of divination and astrology. That stuff’s hooey, and you’ve got to have a screw loose to go in for that sort of thing. Our beliefs are fairly commonplace and simple to understand. Humankind is simply materialized color operating on the 49th vibration. You would make that conclusion walking down the street or going to the store.”

To do then now would be retro. To do then then was very now-tro, if you will.”

Before we begin tonight’s performance I would like to make a brief announcement. I’d like to warn you that some of the floral arrangements at tonight’s performance have dangerously low hanging vines and may be poisonous. So please, whatever you do, don’t eat ’em and don’t become entangled in them or trip, please.”

Leave a comment